IP & Network Override

The IP & Network Override section will allow you to Permit or Deny specific IPs or Networks. The permit or deny action will occur at the perimeter check level. If the action is permit, then the perimeter checks will be effectively bypassed and the email will be allowed to be processed by the rest of the subsystems such as the spam filter and the antivirus engines(s). If the action is deny, then the connection will be immediately dropped by Hermes SEG and no further processing will occur.

Override an IP Address

  1. Ensure IP Address is selected.
  2. Under the Note field, enter a note describing the entry you are adding.
  3. Under the IP field, enter the IP address of the remote server.
  4. Under the Action field, select either Permit or Deny.
  5. Click the Add button (Figure 1).

Figure 1

  1. Each entry you add shows up in the IP & Network Address(es) to be added section (Figure 2).

Figure 2

  1. Continue adding entries as needed. When finished, click on the Apply Settings button on the bottom of the page (Figure 3).

Figure 3

Override a Network Address

  1. Ensure Network is selected.
  2. Under the Note field, enter a note describing the entry you are adding.
  3. Under the Network field, enter the network address you are adding.
  4. Under the Subnet drop-down field select the subnet mask of the network you are adding.
  5. Under the Action field, select either Permit or Deny.
  6. Click the Add button (Figure 4).

Figure 4

  1. Each entry you add shows up in the IP & Network Address(es) to be added section (Figure 5).

Figure 5

  1. Continue adding entries as needed. When finished, click on the Apply Settings button on the bottom of the page (Figure 6).

Figure 6

Delete an Override

  1. Under the Delete IP & Network Override section, select the entry you wish to delete and click the Delete button below (Figure 7). Note that only one entry can be selected to be deleted at a time.

Figure 7

  1. Each entry you select to be deleted shows up in the IP & Network Address(es) to be deleted section (Figure 8).

Figure 8

  1. Continue selecting entries to be deleted as needed. When finished, click on the Apply Settings button on the bottom of the page (Figure 9).

Figure 9